Valencia Voice

The Upside Review

The Upside Review

January 18, 2019

Bird Box Review

Bird Box Review

January 2, 2019

Film brings double reunion

Film brings double reunion

September 28, 2012

‘Master’ film leaves audience thinking

By Nick Lawro / nlawro@valenciavoice.com

September 24, 2012

Writer and Director Paul Thomas Anderson generates an entertaining, yet eerie depiction of a cult in the early 1950s in the new movie, “The Master.” As the director of movies such as “There Will Be Blood” and “Boogie Nigh...

‘Cold Light of Day’ gets icy reception

By Alexa Rydelek / arydelek@valenciavoice.com

September 10, 2012

Envision a picture-perfect scene: a troubled family reuniting for an idyllic Spanish vacation. But of course, that is far too good to be true for any action film. Illusions of paradise are soon shattered as the thrilling, though...

Popular ‘Games’ book transformed into film

By Brittany Rose / brose@valenciavoice.com

March 27, 2012

As someone who had never read nor heard of “The Hunger Games” before the promotional videos were released, the only real backstory that I had to go on before heading into the theatre on opening night was what was being shar...

‘Woman in Black’ gives ‘Potter’ star new reputation

By Felicia Roopchand / froopchand@valenciavoice.com

February 7, 2012

Directed by: James Watkins Starring: Daniel Radcliffe, Janet McTeer and Ciaran Hinds Rated: PG-13 3.5 Stars While watching the first couple of minutes of the suspense-horror flick, “The Woman in Black,” starring Daniel ...

Cancer is not all it’s cracked up to be

Robert McCaffrey

October 4, 2011

By Neda Hamdan Nhamdan@valenciavoice.com 4.5 stars out of 5 Based on a true story, “50/50” is about a twenty-something who works at a radio station, (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), that is diagnosed by cancer. The film is insp...

No dreams, but definitely some snores

Robert McCaffrey

October 4, 2011

By Jeff Shedden jshedden@valenciavoice.com 3 stars out of 5 It’s usually a bad sign when a horror film is given a PG-13 rating. Luckily, ‘Dream House’ was merely marketed as horror when it is instead a suspense/thriller th...

The Student News Site of Valencia College
film