Valencia Voice

I hate online courses

By Neda Hamdan / nhamdan@valenciavoice.com

April 23, 2012

The computer seems fine for Facebook or Twitter, but an exam? Online courses lack visual learning as well as one-on-one contact with professors and engaged learning.If there’s one thing most college students suffer from, it...

Jeff Hates: goodbye everyone!

By Jeff Shedden / jshedden@valenciavoice.com

April 23, 2012

This is the very final installment of “Jeff Hates,” and the last chance to force my opinions on my audience. There was no Pulitzer prize awarded this year for editorial writing, and the first thing that ran through my mind...

Domestic drilling damaging

By Fred Lambert / flambert@valenciavoice.com

March 15, 2012

With gas at $3.75 per gallon, it isn’t surprising that about half of all Americans support oil drilling and production in the United States. But the urge toward quick fixes plagues modern society more and more with fleeting atte...

Hollywood does glorify abuse

By Brittany Rose / brose@valenciavoice.com

March 6, 2012

Picture it: your friend comes to you with a bruised face and tells you that her boyfriend beat her up. Said boyfriend is then arrested, sentenced to probation and literally banned by the court system from seeing your friend for ...

Hollywood doesn’t glorify abuse

By Jeremy S. Williams / jwilliams@valenciavoice.com

March 6, 2012

Hollywood is accused of a lot when society goes astray -- sex, drugs, violence -- anything and everything that spurs outrage will unavoidably be linked back to something seen in a movie or on TV, or something heard in a song, but ...

Oscar wrap up

Jeremy S. Williams / jwilliams@valenciavoice.com

March 6, 2012

Hollywood had their annual love affair with themselves this past Sunday with the 84th Academy Awards with host Billy Crystal emceeing for the ninth time. A throw back to the past, Hollywood spent the night honoring movies abou...

This idiotic week: Houston funeral, ESPN slur, Megacon

By Jeff Shedden / jshedden@valenciavoice.com

February 24, 2012

Whitney Houston:  Like any other popular singer or actor who dies before accomplishing nonagenarian status, the entire nation shuts down to fixate on the death of Whitney Houston. We did it for Michael Jackson, we did it for...

Jeff Loves: no really, it’s true!

By Jeff Shedden / jshedden@valenciavoice.com

February 13, 2012

People ask me all the time, “Jeff, you’re so full of hate, is there anything you actually love?” The answer is, a firm, resounding “NO!” I kid, I kid. Of course there are things I love. Most readers of the Voic...

Yes to Obama re-election

By Shay Castle / scastle@valenciavoice.com

January 26, 2012

Obama is focusing his re-election campaign on the strength of his foreign policy, as he should. The majority of American voters are woefully ignorant of foreign affairs, but most understand the need for a strong leader, and ...

No to Obama re-election

By Brittany Gil / bgil@valenciavoice.com

January 26, 2012

President Barack Obama’s leadership style approval rating dropped to an all-time low for the third straight month in August 2010, he hasn’t recovered yet. Although Obama made more than an effort to keep his promises, it s...

Award shows rock

by Jeremy Williams / jwilliams@valenciavoice.com

January 23, 2012

It's that time of year again folks, and I couldn't be more excited! No not the Super Bowl or any other sporting event. Not the exhausting road to the White House either. I believe we have all had our fill of Republican debates and ...