The Florida Cup returns to Orlando


The Florida Cup will take place on January 15 and 18 at Orlando’s Exploria Stadium.

Manuel Chimoy, Sports writer

The sixth Florida Cup soccer tournament is back in Orlando on January 15 and January 18 at Exploria Stadium. Four international club teams will compete for the championship: New York City FC, Corinthians and Palmeiras from Brazil, and Atlético Nacional from Columbia.

The schedule is as follows:


January 15

Corinthians vs. New York FC at 6 p.m. EST

Palmeiras vs. Atlético Nacional at 8:30 p.m. EST

January 18

New York FC vs. Palmeiras at 2 p.m. EST

Atlético Nacional vs Corinthians 5:30 p.m. EST


The games will be broadcast on beIN SPORTS, and the winner will be determined by who has the best record or highest goal differential. 

Partnering with Universal Orlando Resort and Adidas, the Florida Cup has become “a global platform that combines sports, music, and entertainment,” according to a press release.

“As we enter the sixth edition of the Florida Cup, I am proud and honored to showcase such an important roster of partners for our event,” said Florida Cup CEO Ricardo Villar in the release. “Together, we will work to not only showcase the Florida Cup as a preeminent event in the international soccer calendar, but further solidify Orlando as THE destination for global football, as demonstrated by the region’s bid to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.”

The finals will feature a special performance from Columbian singer Manuel Turizo and Brazillian artist Ivete Sangalo, which will take place between the matches.

Florida Cup Fan Fest will be held at Universal Studios Florida for the third straight year. The Music Plaza Stage will have a concert hosted by Sangalo on January 19 at 7 p.m.

Another event that will take place is the Florida Cup Legends tournament,  5-on-5 matches of former players from Corinthians, Palmeiras, and Atletico Nacional at Universal Studios. The players who will be representing those teams are: 

Corinthians: Jose Ferreira Neto, Ronaldo Giovanelli, Marcelinho Carioca, André Luiz, and Renato Abreu.

Palmeiras: Rivaldo Vítor Barbosa Ferreira who is also known as “Rivaldo,” Denílson de Oliveira, also known as “Denílson” Cléber Américo da Conceição, who is also known as “Cléber,” Crizam César de Oliveira Filho (Zinho), and Alexandre da Silva Mariano, who is also known as “Amaral.”

Atletico Nacional: Francisco Najera, Aquivaldo Mosquera, Milton Patiño, Camilo Zuñiga, and the legendary Colombian goalkeeper René Higuita.