Valencia Voice

Gay civil rights gain support

February 22, 2011

By Camilo Echeverri Bernal cecheverribernal@valenciavoice.com Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) rights have come a long way since Stonewall. The community has seen its ups and its downs. From coast to coast in the U.S. ...

We’re all the same

February 22, 2011

By Jenn Stripling jstripling@valenciavoice.com “You fail to recognize that it matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.” Albus Dumbledore spoke these words and he could not have put it any better. In the...

Priests hide behind the altar

February 16, 2011

By Camilo Echeverri Bernal cecheverribernal@valenciavoice.com They are beacons of hope. They are vicars of ‘God.’ In America and all over the world, Catholic priests possess almost pop-star status. Their message is of comfo...

Valencia’s network disconnects

February 16, 2011

By Veronica Figueroa Benitez vfigueroa@valenciavoice.com I always see people complaining about the crappy Internet connection at the student lounge in building six and I sympathize with them. I used to be one of those students...

Victory calls for tradition

February 1, 2011

By Emmanuel Colon ecolon@valenciavoice.com Fans of the green and yellow, the time has come to wear our cheeseheads for the big game. Despite having a 10-6 record this season and making the playoffs as the sixth seed in the NFC, t...

Where do you like it? Facebook status raise breast cancer awareness

October 15, 2010

By Taylor Weiss tweiss@valenciavoice.com While on Facebook the other night, I noticed my friend’s status saying “I like it on the couch.” After recovering from the shock, I looked around some more. It appeared tha...

The hunt for pink October

October 12, 2010

By Jon Terbeche jterbeche@valenciavoice.com "Think pink" is a phrase you may have heard somewhere. Perhaps when you heard it, it may not have had much meaning to you, or maybe it was used in a different context, but normal...

What’s love got to do with it?

February 18, 2010

  By Roxy Smith rsmith@valenciavoice.com February is the month when love is in the air, flowers are blooming, butterflies are flapping their wings for the first time and the birds are singing. Cupid is sitting on a cloud with...

PRESIDENT SHUGART DELIVERS UPDATEON VALENCIA COMMUNITY COLLEGE

October 9, 2009

(The following update on the state of Valencia Community College was sent via e-mail by Dr. Sanford C. Shugart to administrators, faculty and staff on Sept. 22, and is published here with permission.) By Sanford C. Shugart, Ph.D...

OPINION: ULTIMATE OPPORTUNIST SEIZES SPOTLIGHT

September 24, 2009

By  T.J. Cole tjcole@valenciavoice.com Kanye West is a passionate guy, and looks at Beyoncé like family. I understand West -- he'S always felt like he never got his due, so he speaks up every time he gets a chance. Tayl...