Valencia Voice

Nostalgia now comes in the form of DVDs

March 2, 2011

By Maraya Figueroa mfigueroa@valenciavoice.com Attention kids of the 90’s. Remember all those hit cartoons that seemed to always play on Nickelodeon? There are numerous Facebook pages dedicated to 90’s Nickelodeon shows full ...

Patrick stumps on new record

March 2, 2011

By Christine Saraceno csaraceno@valenciavoice.com As of lately Patrick Stump has had a lot of time on his hands. With the future of his pop-punk band Fall Out Boy (FOB) unknown, he had to find something to do with all his newfo...

Toro y Moi stays inside the box

March 2, 2011

By Christine Saraceno csaraceno@valenciavoice.com “Chillwave” innovator Chaz Bundick, better known by his stage name Toro y Moi, has finally released his highly anticipated follow up to 2010’s Causers of This and he definit...

Viral stars arrive at Playlist Live

March 2, 2011

By Veronica Figueroa Benitez vfigueroa@valenciavoice.com The world of social media is constantly growing, due greatly to this generation’s desire for instant, interactive connectivity, and as a result, YouTube. This March, the Yo...

“Wicked” performance mystifies audience

March 2, 2011

By Anna Gerrol agerrol@valenciavoice.com Stephen Schwartz’ live adaptation of “Wicked” finally arrived in Orlando at the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center last week, bringing with it an incredible cast and tremendous tale...

“The Crucible” casts a spell on East campus

February 23, 2011

By James Tutten jtutten@valenciavoice.com Valencia Character Company is currently presenting Arthor Miller’s play “The Crucible” at Valencia's East campus. The powerful Tony award-winning story, a canon of American theatr...

‘I Am Number Four’ is a must see for all

February 22, 2011

By Charmayne Knox cknox@valenciavoice.com Alex Pettyfer and Dianna Agron (Glee’s Quinn Fabray) starred in the latest action movie called “I Am Number Four.” Released this past Friday, it was based on a young adult science ficti...

“The Illusionist” becomes a masterpiece second time around

February 22, 2011

By Shannon Scheidell sscheidell@valenciavoice.com Sylvain Chomet must have spent the past eight years, since his last film was released, honing his artistic skills in both music and animation direction, because “The Illusion...

A decade late and twenty characters short

February 22, 2011

By Jonathan Terbeche jterbeche@valenciavoice.com Ask anyone what their favorite fighting game of all time is and there’s a good chance they’ll say, “Marvel vs. Capcom 2.” After over a decade, many fans are still play...

New Lady Gaga song is all about self-acceptance

February 22, 2011

By Christine Saraceno csaraceno@valenciavoice.com Worldwide, Lady Gaga fans have been on edge for months anticipating new music from the pop megastar. On Feb. 11, they got their wish with the release of the song “Born This W...

Unlucky number seven

February 22, 2011

By Christine Saraceno csaraceno@valenciavoice.com Since they released their debut album, “Young Team,” Scottish post-hardcore band Mogwai have put together an impressive discography of powerful, progressive, guitar-based r...

Same character, different name

February 16, 2011

By Charmayne Knox cknox@valenciavoice.com Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston starred in a romantic comedy called “Just Go With It.” Released this past Friday, it was based on a movie from 1969 called “Cactus Flower.” ...